Making beer isn’t just a process of craftsmanship and creativity. It’s also a process of transformation — and that takes energy. 

From day one at Cardinal Brewing, we wanted to make every effort to run a sustainable business and make responsible choices for our community and our future. That’s why we made the unusual choice to move away from fossil fuels and set ourselves up as an all-electric brewery. 

A choice to reduce our carbon footprint

Quebec is Canada’s leading producer of hydroelectricity. Yet even here, most breweries rely on fossil fuels to power their brewing systems.

When you look through the window into our brewing area, the eye is drawn towards the massive kettles and brite tanks. But it’s our 150kW electric boiler that is the heart of our machinery. 

Steam boilers, including those used in brewing, have been around for a long time. Water is heated into steam and moved through pipes into chambers in the brewing vessels. The heat from the steam heats up the “hot liquor” or brewing water and it brings the hot wort to boil, ready to receive all of those special hop additions brewers plan out as part of their recipes.

Most breweries generate the steam with a propane or natural gas-fired boiler. Yet these systems are actually only 73-83% efficient with the rest of the energy going up the exhaust pipe contributing to a higher carbon footprint. Compare this to an electric system at almost 100% efficiency running on clean Hydro. So why don’t more breweries embrace electricity?

A choice that was not without its challenges

Well, building an all-electric brewhouse might have been a no-brainer goal, but it was not without its headaches. The boiler itself is a more expensive piece of kit compared to a gas-fired counterpart. We also had to invest in upgrading to a 600-volt service to power our new boiler. 

Over the long term, we believe the additional investment and logistical headaches will be worth it. From the beginning, we were determined to get the big decisions right, and that means looking beyond the up-front cost.

Making sustainable choices isn’t always easier, but we believe the payoff is greater. Our all-electric system does what we need it to do, and reduces our carbon footprint to boot.

Brasser de la bière n’est pas seulement un processus d’artisanat et de créativité. C’est aussi un processus de transformation - et ça prend de l’énergie. 

Dès le début à la microbrasserie Cardinal, nous voulions mettre tout en œuvre pour démarrer une entreprise éco-responsable et faire des choix durables pour notre communauté et notre futur. C’est pourquoi on a choisi de nous éloigner des combustibles fossiles et d’ouvrir une brasserie toute électrique. 

Un choix pour réduire notre empreinte carbone

Le Québec est un producteur important d’hydroélectricité au Canada. Mais, même ici, la plupart des brasseries utilisent des combustibles fossiles dans leurs systèmes de brassage.

Si vous regardez à travers la vitrine pour voir notre salle de brassage, vous verrez en premier les cuves et les fermenteurs. Mais le cœur de notre entreprise, c’est la chaudière électrique. 

Les chaudières à vapeur, incluant celles utilisées pour le brassage, sont des machines assez communes. L’eau est chauffée et transformée en vapeur, traversant des tuyaux pour remplir des chambres dans les cuves de brassage. La chaleur de la vapeur réchauffe l’eau de brassage et fait bouillir le moût de bière, jusqu’à temps qu’il est prêt à recevoir les houblons.

La plupart des brasseries produisent la vapeur avec une chaudière au gaz naturel ou au propane. Mais ces systèmes sont seulement efficaces à 73-83%, avec le reste de l’énergie perdu par le tuyau d’échappement et contribuant à une empreinte carbone plus élevée. Comparez ceci à un système électrique efficace à 100% qui utilise de l’énergie hydroélectrique. Dans ce cas là, pourquoi n’y a t’il pas plus de brasseries adoptant des chaudières électriques?

Un choix qui n'a pas été sans défis

Construire une brasserie électrique était important pour nous, mais ça n’était pas sans défis. Une chaudière électrique est plus dispendieuse qu’une au gaz. Nous devions aussi augmenter notre service électrique à 600 volts pour accommoder la chaudière. 

À long terme, nous croyons que notre investissement additionnel et nos casse-têtes logistiques en valent la peine. Dès le début, nous étions déterminés à commencer du bon pied, et ça voulait dire regarder au-delà du coût initial.

Faire des choix soutenables n’est pas toujours facile, mais nous croyons que le gain est le plus grand. Notre système électrique fait ce qu’on veut, propre et avec une faible empreinte carbone.